Jacob Groth

Danish Film Composer

"Oh, To Be A Butterfly" Soundtrack release

December 2020

The soundtrack for Søren Kragh-Jacobsens new film “Lille Sommerfugl” (Oh, To Be A Butterfly” has been released alongside the film premiere. The album features pastiche “dansktop” songs written by Jacob Groth and Søren Kragh-Jacobsen, which are performed by a party band called “Theis Tequila” in the film. There has also been released a video for the song “Louise”. Watch the video here.

Find the soundtrack on Spotify.

DNA premieres on BBC Four

October 2020

The 2019 Danish drama series, DNA, scored by Jacob Groth has just had its UK premiere on BBC Four last week.

The show centers around Rolf Larsen, a respected detective on the Copenhagen police force, who has his life brutally upended when his baby daughter goes missing.

Rejseholdet (Unit One) celebrates 20th anniversary

October 2020

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the premiere of Rejseholdet (Unit One) on DR. Jacob Groth did the iconic score to the tv drama, which was a huge hit in Denmark and continues to be one of the most beloved series among Danes.

DR did an article feature about the show in honor of the anniversary, calling the production a “TV revolution”. You can read the article here.

Listen to the intro theme in our TV section.

Trailer for "Lille Sommerfugl" is out

October 2020

Søren Kragh-Jacobsens upcoming movie “Lille Sommerfugl” (Oh, to be a Butterfly) is set for cinema release on December 3rd.

Jacob Groth has spent the past year working on the score for the film and has furthermore worked with Søren Kragh-Jacobsen on creating a soundtrack of pastiche songs that are interweaved in the storyline of the film.

The film features Jesper Christensen and Karen-Lise Mynster in the lead roles and is produced by Snowglobe Films.

The plot of the film centers around a couple celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary in the local assembly hall. During the long and festive party, truths emerge and the family is put to the ultimate test.

New Søren Kragh-Jacobsen movie.

May 2020

Jacob is currently finishing the score for Lille Sommerfugl,the new Søren Kragh-Jacobsen movie.

First week of june he will record the score.

Musicians include Nicolaj Busk-accordeon, Ole Bo-drums,Søren Møller-piano and Adam Mc`Kenzie-Cello All guitars are played by Jacob.

More information on release date etc etc will follow

New album from Jacob

February 2020

Jacob is for the time being releasing a series of singles digitally on all platforms. They will make a full album, when all are released. Album is named “Music For Your Inner Movie”, all composed by Jacob, music is performed by Jacob and The Copenhagen Filmharmonics.

The album is dedicated to the young generation of humans fighting for our planet, and the song titles is inspired by nature, where Jacob is spending a lot of his time. The album was created after a terrible experience with a major film project in Los Angeles. He simply started writing on an album for himself, that would make him happy. Give him back the pleasure of working with music again.

Jacob really enjoyed making all of the 11 songs, and recording them with his great team The Danish Filmharmonics including Soloists Henrik Goldsmidt og Adam McKenzie. The album is engineered by Søren M og Ole Bo, both of them also play piano,synth,marimba, drums and percussion on the album.

You will find the songs here

Wisting will launch in the US

December 2019

Wisting will launch on Sundance Now in the U.S. on December 18. Based on novels by Jørn Lier Horst, the 10-part series tells the story of Norwegian homicide detective William Wisting chasing an American serial killer. Moss plays an FBI agent. Cinenord Drama AS and Denmark’s Good Company Films made the drama, thought to be one of the biggest budget shows in Norway. It was originally commissioned by Nordic SVOD service Viaplay and broadcasters TV3 and Germany’s ARD.

Music composed by Jacob Groth.

New feature film by Søren Kragh-Jacobsen

September 2019

Jacob is preparing to start working on the new feature film by Søren Kragh-Jacobsen “Lille Sommerfugl” (Little Butterfly), which will premiere in 2020.

DNA - New TV series

August 2019

Jacob has created all music for the coming TV-series “DNA”, to be broadcasted at TV2 (Denmark) in the autumn. The series feature great Danish actors such as, Anders W. Berthelsen, Nicolas Bro, Louise Mieritz as well as British legendary Charlotte Rampling. The plot is based on real cases about errors in the DNA files with the Danish police, which leads to reinvestigations.

Script by Thorleif Hoppe and among others directed by Kasper Gaardsøe. Executive producer is TV series legend Sven Clausen. The series is a co-production with France.


April 2019

Enjoy the beautiful vignette for the TV series, with Jacobs music. WATCH

1 2 3 4 7
Back to Top